Friday, January 18, 2008

Anuranan (2006)

Director : Aniruddha Roy-Chowdhury
Rating : 2.5 out of 5

I usually enjoy watching Bengali films which are more arty forms than Hindi Masala. So such kind of expectation, I choose to watch “Anuranan” over my Vidya starring “Halla Bol” for this Friday.

Directed by debutant “Aniruddha Roy-Chowdhury”, this film explores the relationships of two married couples. Unlike Karan Johar’sKabhi Alvida Naa Khana”, this is not marital affair, pure relationships and the public brittle reaction on this relationship.

Architect Rahul (Rahul Bose) has a happy marriage with Nandita (Rituparna Sengupta) living in London. Their only unhappiness is that Nandiata could not get children. They move back to Calcutta for Ruhul’s project in Sikkim to build a resort.The couple meet Preeti (Raima Sen), unhappy wife of the man who is plugging in money for the project. The two couples have known each other for long and have a smooth relationship. Rahul and Raima become close friends and they share their feeling each other.

Being a nature lover Rahul suggests Preeti to take a trip to Kanchenjunga. The two spends a day there and next morning Preeti finds out Rahul’s dead form heart attack. This follows the bad situations of the remainders from the defects and public opinions on their relationship.
Having some bad points and un-necessaries setting, the delight of this film is the depicting resonance between people. For the performances, all casts done good jobs . Raima Sen is simply amazing; showing very expressive in her different moods and moments for different situations of her character. Other goods points are the heartbreaking films background music and the amazing scenery of the hill station in the mountains.

For conclusion, the film Anuranan is a pure film that penetrates the issues of humans relationships especially for relationship between a man and a woman need not necessarily be that of husband-wife or boyfriend-girlfriend. Watchable film for drama and art films lovers.

Saturday, December 22, 2007

Rudaali (1992)

Director : Kalpani Lajmi
Rating : 4 out of 5

Watching an art film is very different from commercial films, which is very hard to proceed whether you do not care the character performances. Art films most prominent different from commercial is the performances. In commercial ones, you just only care the star power and popularity, but in art film just the character’s performances.
I am simply not a fans of Dimple Kapadia , since I know her in commercial hits like “Bobby” and “Saagar” as exposing sex symbol. But when I watched , her National Award winning role in “Rudaali” I just amazing .
Her performances, her unspoken sorrows, her body languages everything she done is just amazing and I cannot express how she is natural in the movie.

Set in the small village at Rajasthan , unfortunate woman named , Shanichari ,her life struggle and the traitional culture of India is the main plot of movie . This film title “Rudaali” means professional woman weeper at funeral ceremony.

This film open age Shanichari make friend with aged professional weeper (Rudaali) and tell her life story. Shanichari cannot cry throughout her life. She was left by her own mother and bought by drunker to marry him. Property owner favored her, she was call to him as a savant, and they have afire. When her husband died in village festival by plaque, she has to borrow 50 rupees from land load for her husband funeral and her son served at the land load 15 years. When her son came back after his loan, they happily live together but the fortune turns again when her son marries prostitute. Shanichari quarrels with the couple and her son leave her. Now, lonely Shanichari now live togather with the old Rudaali. She suggests her to become a fellow Rudaali with her. However, the problem is that Shanichari can't weep.

Even when the old woman dies, Shanichari comes to know that she was her mother, Shanichari's tears come back to her eyes after long years and she becomes a famous Rudaali taking over her mother's profession.

This film has different storyline from others and many special facts like ; performances, setting in desert of Rajasthan and have very good songs. My favorite one is “Dil Hoom Hoom Gare”(My heart beats with fear) with very sad melody and sweet voice of “Lataji” .
For me, this is one of the saddest films I have watched , and Dimpleji gives one the best performances that come deeply to my heart.

Friday, December 21, 2007

Taare Zameen Par (2007)
तारे जमीन पर

Director : Aamir Khan
Rating : 4.5 out of 5

Undoubtedly one of the best films of century, a beautiful story about a young boy who suffered Dyslexia. The creative presentation of debutant director Aamir Khan is the clear proved that he also could establish as director. And art direction, a lots of scenes are beautifully shoot and very heart breaking music.

Of course, it also has wonderful performances. The real star of the film is neither big star Aamir Khan nor other adult casts: “Darsheel Safary” a young boy gives the unforgettable performances as central character. His facial expressions, body languages definitely will make you laugh, cry and take pity on the character that he portrayed. Another is “Tisca Chopra” who can achieved her best as suffering mother and other supporting casts like father and brother are all OK . Aamir Khan enters just the half of the movie and his role is not more than supporting. I am not fan of Aamir, but I love his character (his passion, love, pity on the children) is loveable.
Moreover, one point I love is the main idea of the movie. Parents can accept the genius of their children, means that every child has his own talents and parents have to proud it and allow them to achieve.

Another good point is the film music, exactly not like other masala the misic has its own good way. It can reach the inner sprit of the characters and has very good melody aslo. My favourite song is “Maa” which is very heart breaking song, medlody with meaningful lyrics.

One point I want to admit is I had no expectation on this film at first honestly. But I go and watch this film just to refresh my mind but fortunately, I got wonderful period of time for this.
Overall, this is one of the best films for this year and must watch film before you die. Make sure you go and watch with your children, and rethink again your paternal guide after you have watched whether it is appropriate or not.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Khoya Khoya Chand (2007)

Director : Sudhir Mishra
Rating : 1.5 out of 5

This time is big disappointment from Sudhir Mishra , who gives us many meaning films like "Chameli" , "Dharavi" and many others. Set on the film industery at 1950's a love story between scriptwriter (later director) and raising star cannot create a magic. This film is not clear what the director want to give us , the complex relationships within film industry, the sexual desire of woman and the man power in the industry , as mansion a lot we didn't get the single concept of film.
Nikhat is an ambitious woman in industry. Even she start her career as dancer she become a star under the control of powerful actor Prem Kumar. After the Prem marriage with other lady , Nikhat fall in love with the script writer Zaffar but she cannot overcome Prem's control. She also cannot married Zaffar officially for her career also cannot leave her career for her finical problems. Zaffar aslo try himself to establish as director but Nikhat cannot do his first film. Based on this circumstances Zaffar also have affair with his film star Ratanbala. After these complex condition both Zaffar and Nikhat cannot withstand and Zaffar leave the industry. But Nikhat loose her star power and start drinking and seriously suffer depression. But when Zaffar come back the industry again after years ago , aged and powerless Nikhat want to do his new project. Unaware her illness she do his film named "Khoya Khoya Chand". After that she died and this film comes out as Zaffar's masterpiece.
This is the main plot of movie and director capture beautifully the relationship between Prem and Nikhat , Zaffar and Nikhat , Zaffar and Ratanbala. Although this film has some interesting facts , overall is disappointment. For performances Soha Ali Khan , daughter of legendary "Sharma Tagore" do a great work . Her character is very complex and we can seen her pain and love and feel compassion on her. Shiney Ahuja and Rajat Kapoor are OK.
One big thing wrong about this film is the language , dialog between the characters.In Singapore this film got NC-16 rating for the language and some sex scenes. As a mainstream film , film language is not appropriate to be like thas.Good points are the music that we can feel the old classic melody and performances from all the casts. This film should do in more dramatic form and focus on the single concept what the director want to present.

Friday, November 9, 2007

Saawariya (2007)

Director : Sanjay Leela Bhansali
Rating : 4 out of 5

This dream-like set movie by Sanjay Leela Bhansali's magic is really emotional and sensible for me. Some kind of movies are just for emotional persons and you cannot feel nothing if you are not. This movie is definitely such kind of movie and you may enjoy if you deeply understand the word "Saawariya" (beloved).

A story of pure love , lose , emotional scenes and dialogs are awesome of me. Falling in love with realizing of losing her already , hiding your uncontrollable feeling and there are much beautiful scenes in the film. And Sanjay Leela Bhansali's magnificent presentation on beloved is very close to my heart.

For performances ,the film doesn't need the big stars at all . But the new comers Ranbir Kapoor (Rishi Kapoor and Neetu Singh's son) and Sonam Kapoor (Anil Kapoor's daughter) are perfect on their debut roles. And Ranbir Kapoor is very promosing and make the Kapoor generation proud in years to come. Salman Khan role is just waste and he just appear and then disappear.
Another strong and memorable performance is from "Rani Mukherji", eventually I am not big fan of her , her performances in film is superb and admirable as an actress.Especially her reaction on Ranbir, when he comes knocking on her doors and admits that he wants to spend time with her. This scene is my favourite one and her feeling on Ranbir as how she value him as a pure friend (of prostitute), although she secretly loves him. I feel that this is another definition of "Saawariya".

But there are few points I don't like are the setting (although sequences are filmed brilliantly) : Where it is located in which Era ? What is the passion between Sonam and Salman love story?

Apart from such small point this film is brilliant and lovable. You can obviously know the passion of word "beloved" and feel it with memory on your beloved ones. Otherwise you will definitely state that this is bored. And no wonder some reviews give underrated.For me, Thanks Mr.Bhansali for this Classic Love Story.

Thursday, November 8, 2007

Om Shanti Om (2007)

Director : Farah Khan
Rating : 2 out of 5

Totally entertaining movie from Farah Khan as usual . I cannot feel nothing special than this non-scene storyline and too many songs. Some few songs are being well made and most are not necessary. (especially I love "Ajab Si" , this song is so close to my heart.)But there is the big thing to hide all these things : Shahrukh Khan , Deepika Padukone: promising new comer and 31 stars song "Deewangi Deewangi" . The total plot is not necessary and just the stars are emerge obviously.

For the new very good presentation style , amazing setting and good editing of old film scenes are the other good points of movie . Shahrukh roles are totally very entertaining and I heards a lots of claps even in Cinema Hall. His stardom is just amazing. Deepika Padukone roles are also good-to-look from 70's stars to modern girl. Another good roles are Shreyas Talpade and Kirronji . Kirron Kher give super over-acting and even this is just loving ( I love this actress) .Also ,Arjun Rampal give his best as villain.

Totally , "Om Shanti Om" is the unnatural film with nonscene story-line. But sure you will enjoy and have a good watching time for all very big stars power and funny scenes which are really entertaining. So be sure go and watch with your family.

Tuesday, October 30, 2007

Elizabeth (1998)

Director : Shekhar Kapur
Rating : 3 out of 5

It should be the time I watch "The Golden Age" , but in Singapore this movie will release next year January.So I decided to watch again its prequel Sehkhar's Classics "Elizabath" . It's a saying that "Movies are greatest disaster for historical facts ." . "Elizabeth" is surely such kind of movie just emphasize in drama and totally ignore the historical facts.
The Hollywood debut director of India , Shekhar Kapur made us proud with this movie. The exciting storyline, excellent sets , make-up , costumes and excellent performances. Cate Blanchett (my favourite) as Elizabeth I of England is regarded as the very strong performance I have seen. A woman between love and duties and one whose cannot possess herself whose is the Queen. There is nothing to say for her performances and she became my favourite actress in Hollywood since I had watch it about 3 years ago.Even there are a lots of Claims of Anti-Catholicism for this film , as a viewer I love it .
And another character Geoffrey Rush as Francis Walsingham is very strong ,as a reliable ambassador and loyal "spymaster" of Queen. Anyway this is another should watch film for movie lover and very nice movie as a n0n-history people. For me I have to wait for its sequel Elizabeth: The Golden Age .